Hickory

Hi, I’m Hickory! I am a 6-month-old, 31-lb pup. I have a shiny, low-maintenance black coat and a lean build. My breed is a mystery because I was found as a stray in Tennessee. My foster mom’s guess is a whippet-pit mix (a whip-pit :), and at the shelter I was listed as a lab mix. Whatever I am, I am cute. I like to hang out and play with my foster doggie friends large and small. The shelter said I did fine with cats there, and I met some cat friends in my foster home too. I have either ignored them or play-bowed and hopped around at a distance from them to try to get them to play with me (it didn’t work though). I am the most snuggly puppy and I like to be up close to my foster humans when they are on the couch. I am doing great with housetraining and crate training. Like any puppy my age, I need to be supervised and kept busy so I don’t chew things. I do occasionally bark at noises that I hear in the house or outside, so I might not be the best apartment dog. I walk fine on the leash but I need to continue building my confidence outside when I am in a new environment or see strange people or dogs. I met some chickens and horses though and they didn’t scare me. If someone put me in a situation that was too much for me, it could make me regress. My new family will need to help me to take small steps in visiting new places and people so that I have positive experiences. I have already improved a lot and I am becoming a braver boy on walks. I hope to meet my new family soon!

    Last PostNext Post