Chandler

Hello!!  My name is Joey and I am an Australian Sheppard/Boxer/Chow Mix.  I am a herding dog and am just 16 months old.  When I was born, I lived with my mom and my siblings in filthy conditions in an old house in Morgan County, KY.  Thank goodness we were rescued by Powell PAWS.  I don’t remember much about those times.  I was adopted by a family in May 2020.  They had no experience with puppies and due to their lack of knowledge about what puppies need, I was not properly socialized.  I mostly stayed in a room all alone.  I missed out on meeting new people and other dogs, so I am very shy.  I need a great deal of time to adjust to new things.  I am currently in the process of learning normal social skills.  Barking dogs frighten me.  I am also easily startled.  I love to run and play, but I am most comfortable snuggling.  I love routine and I love quiet time.  I will do better in a quiet home with older adults and no other dogs.  I have no experience with cats.  I am currently being fostered by a lady with two dogs – an 8-year-old Black Lab and a 13-year-old Sheppard mix.  I knew these dogs when I was just a puppy and I remembered them when I met them again.  So, they do not frighten me.  Currently, I am learning socialization and basic obedience and I love learning new things.  I have been told that I am very smart and I am definitely motivated by food.  I love to eat and I love impressing my foster mommy.  I already know how to sit and shake hands.  I am working on stay, lay down and heeling.  I am housebroken and crate trained.  My foster mommy works from home now, so most days I lay in her office with my foster brothers and soak up the sun.  I am also working on my manners – which is new for me.  As I improve my social skills, you will see me at upcoming PAWS events.  I look forward to meeting you!!

    Last PostNext Post