Poe

Hi, I’m Poe! I’m a 1-year-old, 42 lb mixed breed male. I have a handsome black and tan coat, with cute eyebrows and a white stripe on my nose. I’ve got a lean build and a curly tail. My favorite thing is to be scratched on my shoulders- I make a goofy face and look like I’m about to fall over onto you.

I am housebroken, crate trained, and my foster mom says I’m one of her smartest foster dogs; I know “sit,” “stay,” “down,” “come,” “watch me,” “shake,” “sit pretty,” and “touch.” As far as my energy level, I would be fine with a 40 minute evening walk, and some play time in the yard. I would need a yard with a physical fence (not electric).  Occasionally my foster mom works from home and I am content to sleep on my dog bed most of the day while she works. She is also training for a half marathon, and I’m her running buddy. I’ve done up to 7.5 miles with no problem! I’m great at staying right beside during runs. I would be so happy if a runner adopted me because I really seem to enjoy it.

I get insecure when I see strange dogs, so my foster mom is working with me on that and could show you what I’ve been learning. I am improving, and luckily I am very food motivated. I need someone who wants to work with me and help me build my confidence with positive experiences when I see other dogs. I am also scared by strangers who approach quickly, so I probably wouldn’t be a good fit for a home with young children. With a proper introduction, I would do well with a playful younger dog, or a calm and tolerant dog. So far I’ve lived with multiple other PAWS fosters. I lived with a hound pup named Ramen for two months, and we loved to play together. I wouldn’t do well with a dominant or defensive dog in the household. I also have a foster cat brother. If he runs I will chase him, but I can be redirected.

Once I know you, I am the cuddliest guy you will meet! I can be a really good boy, and I hope to find someone who will give me the love and attention that I deserve!

    Last PostNext Post